Connecting Lake Simcoe's Community

Awards event celebrates the efforts of 2022 environmental champions, pictured here.

At its 40th annual Conservation Awards ceremony, held at Newmarket Old Town Hall on Oct. 11, the Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority (the Conservation Authority) paid tribute to 23 incredible individuals, businesses and groups who are working hard to improve our environment.

According to the Conservation Authority’s chair, York Region Chairman and CEO, Wayne Emmerson, “These actions come from people who are part of the solution to the many environmental challenges we face. To hear their stories and learn about their accomplishments gives us all hope for the future.”

The Conservation Authority’s Chief Administrative Officer Rob Baldwin, adds, “This is our favourite event of the year. And this year is particularly special because we returned to celebrating in person for the first time since 2019. Meeting in person to celebrate these extraordinary accomplishments and meet the recipients is so uplifting and energizing. It’s a great way to round off the year. We hope our awards ceremony gives recipients a sense of our appreciation for their efforts… efforts that positively affect us all!”

Below is a list of the 23 recipients who received awards this year. Full details about their achievements, including pictures and videos, can be found on our website here:

Healthy Water Award (5 recipients)

Anne Bell, Sunset Simmental Farm, Innisfil

City of Barrie

Town of Aurora

Town of Caledon

Town of Newmarket

Healthy Land Award (7 recipients)

Bob and Melinda Diebel, Brock

Jane Lampert, Barrie

Megan Potter, East Gwillimbury

Michael Dagenais, King

Nancy and Steve Astin, Lavender North Farm, Oro-Medonte

Sarah Moynes, Uxbridge

Wes Andrews, Brock

Healthy Community Award (9 recipients)

Anna Bourgeois, watershed-wide

Anne Wright, Bradford

Carly & Cassie Wry, Brock

Douglas Latimer, Innisfil

Jennifer Slykhuis, Barrie

Living Green Barrie, Barrie

Neighbourhood Network (Aurora, East Gwillimbury, Georgina, King, Newmarket, Whitchurch-Stouffville)

Newmarket Scouting Group, Newmarket

Phil Mowles, watershed-wide

Ernie Crossland Young Conservationist Award

2022 Enviroventure Class at Nantyr Shores Secondary School, Innisfil

George R. Richardson Conservation Award of Honour

Herb Quan, watershed-wide

It’s the mission of the Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority to collaboration to protect and restore the Lake Simcoe watershed with innovative research, policy, and action.

Article and photo courtesy of LSRCA.


Get Your Free Subscription! Delivered Straight to
Your Inbox.

Enter your email to receive updates from us. You can unsubscribe at any time.