Connecting Lake Simcoe's Community

   At a ceremony Oct. 15, Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority
   honoured 20 individuals, businesses and groups who are working
   selflessly to better our environment.

During his introductory remarks, Aurora Mayor and LSRCA Board Chair Geoffrey Dawe expressed his deep admiration and appreciation, remarking on the efforts of the recipients.
“They are the true agents of change and an inspiration to each and every one of us,” Dawe said.

Emceed by last year’s Media Award winners, Jennifer Anderson and Joe Connors of Rogers TV’s Georgina Life, the event took place at Madsen’s Greenhouse and Garden in Newmarket.

Conservation Award recipients are people engaged in positive environmental actions that contribute to a more sustainable and healthier watershed. They do it for no other reason than they care about the world they live in. They are champions in the true sense of the word.

Congratulations to this year’s recipients:
George R. Richardson Conservation Award of Honour:
• Grandmother Josephine Mandamin, Watershed and beyond

WaterCeremony web2015

 Grandmother Mandamin performs the Water Ceremony at the 2015 LSRCA conservation awards night.

Conservation Award of Merit:
• Ontario Water Centre, Watershed wide

Ernie Crossland Young Conservationist Award:
• Melissa Cusack-Striepe

NewmarketPioneering Green Communities Award (4):
• Brent Kopperson, Newmarket
• Murray Ogilvie & Joanne Brown, Newmarket
• TD Friends of the Environment Foundation, Aurora, Brock
• De La Salle Rain Garden Partners, Georgina (pictured below)


 Above: left to right:

LSRCA Board members presenting:

Bobbie Drew (Vice Chair) and Margaret Quirk

Rain Garden Partners:

Representing the Regional Municipality of York, Chair Emmerson

Representing the Town of Georgina, Karyn Stone

Representing the Ontario Water Centre, Krista Lachapelle

Representing Park Lane Nurseries Limited, Owner Anna Van Maris

Representing Seneca College, Sumit Bhatia


Water Conservation Award:
• Township of Ramara


Soil Conservation Award (9):
• Maple Leaf Public School, Newmarket (pictured below)



• Sir William Osler Public School, Bradford West Gwillimbury (pictured below)



• Bradford Lions Club
• Martin and Maria Bonigut, Newmarket
• Rick Horlings, King Township
• Jeanette Phoenix, East Gwillimbury
• Holland Marsh Drainage System Joint Municipal Services Board, Bradford West Gwillimbury
• Larry and Donna Barton, Township of Ramara
• Paul and Gail Barton, Uxbridge

Education Award:
• Smart About Salt Council, Watershed wide

Volunteer Recognition Award:
• Bio Blitz Team of Volunteers, Watershed and beyond

Media Recognition Award:
• Regional Municipality of York, York Region
Full descriptions of the award winners can be found on the LSRCA website:

 Article and photos courtesy of Lake Simcoe Region Conservation Authority

Get Your Free Subscription! Delivered Straight to
Your Inbox.

Enter your email to receive updates from us. You can unsubscribe at any time.