Connecting Lake Simcoe's Community

PowerStream energy company, owned and operated by Barrie, Markham and Vaughan, is being honoured with an Innovation Award by Energy Storage North America for its POWER.HOUSE project.

Announced in March of this year, POWER.HOUSE is Canada's first Virtual Power Plant, and was funded by the Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO). It consists of 20 residential solar and energy storage systems that are located at the homes of PowerStream customers. The storage systems are joined together to create a larger, stronger power generating facility that is controlled using intelligent software. The project received an immense amount of customer interest during the recruiting process in 2015. Following its successful launch, POWER.HOUSE has been featured in many industry publications and has received several awards.

“Earning an Energy Storage North America Innovation Award is a testament to our efforts in bringing new technologies to our customers that will provide them with more energy choices,” said Maurizio Bevilacqua, PowerStream Board Chair and City of Vaughan Mayor. “POWER.HOUSE is another example of our commitment to sustainability and finding ways to help our customers better manage their electricity costs.”

PowerStream is the only Canadian-based company to have received a nomination for this Innovation Award, which, in other years, has been awarded to such international corporations as Walmart, BMW, and Solar City. The Canadian company was recognized for its innovative idea, as well as its positive contributions to the energy storage industry.

“The individuals and organizations who received this year’s ESNA Awards have each played a key role in advancing energy storage through impactful programs, projects, technologies or policies,” said Janice Lin, Energy Storage North America Conference Chair. “Their work is transforming the energy storage ecosystem by opening up brand new markets and solving real world problems for customers and the grid. The strength of our nominees was unmatched in 2016, reflecting the continued growth and maturation of our industry.”

In main photo: (L-R): Brian Bentz, President & CEO, PowerStream; Timothy O’Neill, Chair, Independent Electricity System Operator (IESO); Bruce Campbell, President & CEO, IESO; and Maurizio Bevilacqua, PowerStream Board Chair and City of Vaughan Mayor, officially launch PowerStream’s Power.House program in March.

Article compiled by Zehra Batool. Photo courtesy of PowerStream.

Get Your Free Subscription! Delivered Straight to
Your Inbox.

Enter your email to receive updates from us. You can unsubscribe at any time.